Diana's Neighborhood

Real Estate in New York & Connecticut – Won't you be my neighbor?

Coyotes and Foxes and Deer…and Bears – Oh My!

I Spy a ..... DEER!There are many “critters” living and roaming in my backyard here in New Fairfield, Connecticut – my very own Animal Kingdom.  Having moved from Mount Vernon then to Harrison – both in Westchester County, New York – I was accustomed to seeing squirrels, raccoons, and once an opossum.  Then, almost 4 years ago, my family and I made our way into Connecticut.  

New Fairfield was ideal since it neighbors Brewster – which is just over and into the New York border -making my husbands commute, via 684 to New York City, quicker and easier. We were also able to take advange of lower property and sales taxes as well as the lower automobile and homeowner insurance.  

We moved in August of 2004 with 5 kids, our pup Jolu, kitty Moe and a tank full of Goldfish.  And, every year we seem to add a new – what we now call “pets“, to our home!

We first started with families of deer, sometimes seeing 7 at a time – my lucky number.  Can you Spy the deer in the photo?  Then towards the end of our first year, we spotted our first fox – adorable!  I nick named him Foxy Pooh – very original.  My neighbor had a Mother Fox and her 2 cubs living in his backyard – too cute!

Our second year in New Fairfield we were introduced to Black Bears– although, only hearing of them – never seeing them – yet!  They went from being spotted in the Pootatuck State Forest – miles away – to just a few blocks away!

Into our third year, one warm summer night, we officially heard the coyote, howling in my driveway at the moonlight – or could he have been howling at the light from my bedroom window?

 Now we will soon be getting into our 4th year and I’m awfully curious what new “pet” we’ll be adding.  Maybe a Moose

Living in New Fairfield, makes coming home feel like we’re going to my Mom’s country house – except it’s our house and we get to come home everyday to a town filled with nature and animal life.

 Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

April 24, 2008 - Posted by | Connecticut, Fun Post, New Fairfield | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

