Diana's Neighborhood

Real Estate in New York & Connecticut – Won't you be my neighbor?

Keeping Sane While Being a Realtor

To keep myself sane in this crazy housing market and the collision of the economy, unemployment and credit crisis – I stay hopefull by listening to my favorite tunes, watch some tear-jerking, tummy-tickling and jaw-dropping movies – along with others that are inspiring“Pursuit of Happyness” with Will Smith is awesome!  I also remember each and everyday that I need to push myself for my family – my husband who works 7 days a week outdoors in this bitter cold and my 5 children. 

My faith and being well aware that so many people are in such difficult situations is also a tremendous part of getting through touch times.  I read yesterday about an agent, who’s being a friend, while helping to sell the homes of clients– one with an inoperable tumor in her head – and another who’s husband beat and left her with 3 young children, 2 with severe autism.  Reading this made me sad, but I am glad those sellers have a good agent.  Also after reading this article, it made me realize how fortunate I am – even with my home sales being down, my husband having to switch companies risking his hours being cut, a fire in our house and bills that are causing nightmares!

nightmare

Listening to my mother’s stories of growing up in Portugal brings a smile to my face – everytime.  But there are also many stories of  heartache.  In the small village where both of my parents grew up in – Vila Rinho da Raia in Chaves, Portugal – bordering Spain.  Of all the homes in that village, not one went untouched with sadness.  Either with severe illness and/or poverty and many times, the death of a child.  I’ve asked myself,  How did they get through those difficult times?  What support did they have? … 

My paternal grandmother lost not one, but a few children at childbirth, her 4 year old daughter was kidnapped, found and died of unknown causes a few days later, her husband – my grandfather – passed away, leaving her to raise all 7 children on her own.  But yet, she continued to live…

My Grandparents and my father 1925

 

home

Today, we just reached 3 million people who have lost their jobs.  If you know someone who has – stay in touch with thema phone call, get together for a cup of coffee, help them write their resume or look through the want ads.  Being a supportive friend goes a long way.

friendly-hug-mysza831                                                                            mysza831 – Flickr.com

An article for inspiration and advice:

“Worry never robs tomorrow of it’s sorrow, but only saps today of it’s strength.” – A.J. Cronin

February 3, 2009 - Posted by | Economy, Inspiration, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

