Diana's Neighborhood

Real Estate in New York & Connecticut – Won't you be my neighbor?

Buying a Home in New Fairfield, CT

If your looking to buy a home in New Fairfield, CT – WONDERFUL!  My family and I moved here from Harrison, NY about 4-1/2 years ago and we LOVE it! 

picture-351Ball Pond – Scenery during my daily commute

New Fairfield borders Brewster, NY – making an easy commute to work for both myself to Century 21 V.J.F. Realty which is located right in Brewster – and my husband who commutes via I-684 to NYC.

picture-339Candlewood Lake

Why New Fairfield, CT

  • Accessibility to I-84 and I-684since we do have to work!
  • Great Schoolsmoved here with 5 kids and schools were very important to me.  Don’t have school age kids?  Please keep in mind that purchasing a home which a good school system is great for resale purposes!
  • Low Taxeswe have a comfortably spacious home on 2.1 acres – and pay less taxes than some homes that are 1/4 the size in my neighboring towns of NY.
  • Lot’s of choices for shopping in neighboring Danbury, CT including the Danbury Fair Mall With a large family, I spend lots of $$ in groceries, clothing and other necessities – having choices and paying low taxes on items that are taxable is great! 
  • Candlewood Lake – BEAUTIFUL!!!  60 + miles of shoreline – motorboats are allowed and if you don’t own one, no problem since you can always rent one!
  • Fresh air and scenic viewsYou can go hiking in Pootatuck State Forest or visit the state park of Squantz Pond – or just open your window and BREATHE!
  • Great for a first time home buyer and/or luxury buyerThere are 2 bedroom homes in the $200,000 price range, perfect for a first time home buyer – or large homes, some in private Candlewood Lake communities, for up to a few mil for the luxury buyer.
  • Lots of Wildlife – all I have to do is sit on my deck which faces the woods in my back yard.  There we will see families of deer, foxes, wild turkeys, coyotes – and many have seen bobcat and bear – these last 2, I honestly hope to NEVER see!

home-020Birds in my side yard

In the center of town you’ll find everything from Shaw’s Supermarket or for fresh meats and an awesome Deli, there is the New Fairfield Food Market. For a bite to eat there is Bruno’s Pizza, Biscotti’s, Portofino’s the local diner,  Chinese take out and other eateries. There is also Gas stations and repair shops, Physicians and Dentists, Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts, Hair and Nail salons, our local Hardware store, Banks, Dry Cleaners, Video store – and of course our New Fairfield Post Office, Town Hall and Library.  A small town life with all life’s necessities!

I plan on living here until I’m old and gray… sadly, both have already started!

picture-495Stream after a rain storm in my Backyard 

picture-0081Squantz Pond – State Park in New Fairfield, CT

WON’T YOU BE MY NEIGHBOR?

February 10, 2009 - Posted by | Buyers, Candlewood Lake, New Fairfield, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I
    find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something
    back and help others like you helped me.

    Comment by Lan | August 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

